10.24.07 :: 10:21 am


i'm a teensy bit panicked right now about the fires in SoCal.
we're not in harm's way, but trying to wrap my mind around ONE MILLION PEOPLE displaced is really fucking with me.

That and the fact that SoCal has NO WATER, EVER

I'm very panicked.
Why did we move here?? Was it a mistake?

I just don't know.

Yesterday, the sun glowed bright, jolly-rancher red.
And the air smelled like a barbecue.


It's also about 95 degrees today and the air is positively VISCOUS.
Our car was covered in a fine layer of ash this morning.

I'm handling my first California disaster fairly well though, truth be told.

Full-throttle freakout at bay, I concetrate on other things. Like phantom pregnancy symptoms (which are truly nothing to raise an eybrow at, seeing as if I were actually pregnant, I'd be only 4 or 5 days along).
And my borderline unhealthy obsession with our DVR.
And fig jam from Crete.

earlier / next