02.08.05 :: 4:02 pm


From Becky...

I: Ten Random Songs
Instructions: Put your MP3 player on "shuffle" and list the first ten songs that play, no matter how embarrassing.

-blues for uncle gibb - broken social scene
-venus - air
-guard attacks - chavez
-leave me alone - damone
-a different feeling - the avalanches
-seven seas - echo & the bunnymen
-twins - manitoba
-hurley - pinback
-five day morning - the clientele
-catherine at aldeburgh - roy montgomery

II: Question and Answer Section
Read question. Answer question.

What is the total amount of music files on your computer?
Oh, crap. I'm up to about 86GB and counting.

The last CD you bought is:
The Stills - Logic Will Break Your Heart

What is the song you last listened to before beginning this meme?
"So Says I" - the Shins


III: Write down five songs you often listen to or that mean a lot to you.

1. "Drinker's Peace" - Guided by Voices
the part where he goes "My life was dirt but you seem to make it cleaner, reduce my felony to a misdemeanor..." makes me think of Ryan and how good for me he is and stuff.

2. "Girl on the Wing" - the Shins
the melody is just so sweet and clean and good. It makes me as purely happy as I was when I was a kid and wasn't corrupted yet.

3. "System On" - Lali Puna
Is she Brazilian? I don't know what she sings half the time but this one's got such a beat, I swear I was shaking my ass while folding laundry the other day. It's one of those uplifting feelings you get when everything in life seems perfect for three minutes.

4. "Slumber" - B. Fleischman
He's this German composer guy. It's electronic and there aren't lyrics and yet the song totally tells a story and there's a sleepy peacefulness in this song that's just perfect.

5. "Astronaut" - Luna
Something about the way the guitar is tremolo'd to within an inch of its life gives it this sweepy, vibratey sound and he talks about the love of his life and says "because you're mistletoe, because I gamble" and it makes me feel that dizzying feeling in your stomach when the elevator drops too fast.

Pass the task to three of your friends:
if my friends wanna, my friends can go 'head.

earlier / next