August 31, 2001 :: 1:38 pm


Twenty minutes not even entirely in the house and you-know-what on that there couch with you-know-who-makes-my-knees-and-heart-jellied and it's good to be home, but there's parts of me dotting those there beaches and islands that no digital wizardry camcorder flair could ever capture, I swear to the gods of the seas ("If we capsize, it's because you're an angry bastard! And they sense it!") ...

***

In Andros, I opened my eyes underwater, did a forward roll, and watched my feet touch the glass layer, sun coming right through. Everything so crystal.

***

I really really really might have developed an unhealthy obsession with feta cheese. I'm just sayin. It was on my plate morning noon and night.

***

Ennio, our Brazilian traveling buddy, kept us laughing throughout the trip, and not entirely on purpose. We all thought for sure he would come out of the closet on this vacation, despite the fact that he kept saying he needed to find lovely girlies to mess around with. And we just hoped there would be a sign, any sign, just for him, so that he would realize what we all suspected. And that day came when all of his shirts were thrown into the wash with something red. Pink, pink, the pinkest of pink shirts...every single one Ennio's...

The irony was lost on him, by the way.

***

"Who's El Venizelo? And why is Athens International Airport named after a Spaniard?"
"Um...that's Eleftherios Venizelos, it's abbreviated."

***

"No? Because no? Don't break her to me, baby. I will have you in opa-opa! Carpet I become under your feet."
-- Our Amercan travelling companion Shelley's first introduction to what we like to call "hot Greek flirting," delivered by a souvlaki stand owner.

***

And now, the difficult process of coming back down. Interview on Tuesday. No jinxing. Just saying.

Next summer, My Boy has been invited to come to Greece and travel with me and stay with my family. They can't wait to meet him, they say.

Already i am 365 days ahead of myself.


earlier / next