12.21.08 :: 5:43 pm


considering the economy is in the shitter, i'm unemployed, and our nest egg is now more like a nest particle, i've never been happier in my whole life.

i'm so happy places like the tapas joint Ruby and I went to the other night exists. I'm beyond happy I'm able to put the words "Ruby" and "the other night" in the same sentence once again.

I'm happy it's Ollie's first Christmas and there are presents under the wreath for him. No tree this year. No room and also no patience to sweep up pine needles. But we have a wreath and it's plenty festive and it's next to the lights strung around the windows.
There's something so warm about the glow off of a strand of white Christmas lights, am I right?

And I'm happy one of my cousins is living in Brooklyn for the next year and a half while she's getting her Master's. I'm happy to have family close by.

Knowing the pendulum is about to swing the other way, I can't even imagine how blissed out I'm about to become when things start picking up again.

It's crazy.

Speaking of crazy, what are my boobs doing? Why is one suddenly bigger than the other? Were they always like this? I don't remember!
I'm back to my pre-pregnancy bra size, in News You Need to Know.

Happy Holidays, kids.

Drink your weight in Egg Nog. May it be spiked to absurdity and may all your wildest Holidays Wishes come true.
(Mine include a pair of these little miracles turning up outside my door .. hey, I dream big, what can I say)

So yeah.
Fruitcakes and suicides aside, this time of year is amazing.
Also due in part to the fact that we don't have a million relatives to see and it's going to be a quiet and relaxed few days.

Thanks be to Bebby Jesus.
Amen.

earlier / next