2001-05-11 :: 9:41 a.m.


I poured sugar into my iced coffee and all of the ice melted. This cannot possibly bode well for my internals.

"Don't fall in love on your date," he said. I'm still thinking about that one. Because it's unsettling that he doesn't know how impossible that is, or he has no idea just how much ... oh, fuck it. Fine, I won't fall in love on my date, guaranteed. So please don't fall in love with Miss Whisper on tour. Although, from what the little birdies tell me, the chances of that happening are about the same as being struck by lightning on a crashing airplane while being hijacked by terrorists on the day you won the lottery. One in a kazillion, basically.

So we're covered.

Tonight, Ruby has a date with Sleepy Steve, and what I think is funny about this is that I knew a Sleepy Steve in college and when she first called her date "Sleepy Steve" I totally freaked out, thinking it was the same guy. Alas, it's not. But that would have been all kinds of funny.

Ruby likes her Sleepy Steve, though. She was a little worried about the receding hairline and the non-drinking status, but these are minor things. "And things are getting desperate as of late," she says. She's been single ever since I met her; three years. And while getting a boyfriend isn't the ultimate goal of life, she would like to try it out.

I telepathically wish her luck.

I don't know what I'm doing tonight yet, but I'm assuming it's going to involve my good friend and roommate, Booze. Cue the deer.


earlier / next