2001-06-18 :: 1:40 p.m.


While working a shift at Basic last weekend, I recognized a friend of my crazy British ex. We talked and caught up in about ten minutes and then she told me that my crazy British ex got married in Vegas a couple of months ago.

Crazy British Ex. Married.

I told her he was a lunatic and she said,
"I know. I stopped being friends with him because he was so mentally abusive."
And I said, "That is exactly the reason why I broke up with him."

What a strange coincidence. So I wasn't the only one he was torturing. I asked her what clearly insane woman married him and she said that it's some girl from Kentucky and that they've been dating for a little less than a year or something and that they drove to Vegas on a whim one day and got married.

He was always obsessed with marriage.
He would propose to me e v e r y w h e r e.

The deli, Central Park, Staten Island Ferry, the museum, taxis, Virgin Megastore, you name it. I don't know if he was trying to wear me down or if he wanted his Green Card renewed or he was codependent, or what, but it was constant.

Thank God I never did it. Which is bizarre because I was so in love with him back then. But I guess that's what a lot of abused women say about their abusers.

Stockholm Syndrome.

'Tis true. Because now, if I saw him on the street, I'd avoid him like the Plague.

Ex Boyfriends getting married. The count's at two. That I know of.


earlier / next