03.15.04 :: 9:07 am


I am not one to gush over Broadway musicals, but wow. This one made me want to become a dancer and an actress. It made me want to bedeck myself in sequins and pancake makeup and don fishnets and high heeled spectator tap shoes and shuffle my way into the hearts of New York.

It was something. I am going to see it again, $100 tickets be damned.

My mother and I sat open-mouthed and smiling in the second row the entire two hours. It was a blast.

The rest of the weekend included a four pound bag of pistachio nuts sent to Mr. M by his mother in a care package. Obviously we had to share. So we lugged that mother to Ruby's house on Friday with two bottles of wine and had ourselves a little Taboo cocktail party.

Mr. M is really, really very good at Taboo. This earns him yet more acreage in my cold little grinchy heart.

Saturday night we went to see Mr. M's sister's friend's band play in a little divey hole in Brooklyn. They were okay. It was kind of obvious that their bass player just started playing her instrument because she could only use one finger, and that's okay and all, but a little tedious after about four songs.

Also, all their songs were in the same key. So basically, it was a 30 minute song we sat through.

I don't know. Maybe I'm just severely jaded regarding live music because I was beaten over the head with it while I lived with the ex.

Speaking of which, the bizarre dreams featuring him and his new girlfriend just won't quit.

I'm gonna write a screenplay about the latest one. Because it had to do with accidentally falling six months into the past and rearranging his girlfriend's life through clever alterations of her journal that I found when I snuck into her apartment.

The dream me is such a cunty little bitch. Viva, I say.

Well, it's 9 ish. Back to the grind. And back to frantically searching for a new job.

earlier / next