09.09.06 :: 9:11 am


so of course like the second i get properly freaked out and all set to go to the pharmacy, the flo arrives.

thank god, actually. we're ready but not right this very second.

he and i got dressed up last night and went to the Essence gala and it was held at a museum up in Harlem. It was pretty awesome, actually. Tey had pictures up of various black style throughout the ages.

and TV screens with old Diana Ross movies playing.
On another TV there was a screen test of the first ever black model and watching her turn her head slowly and pose side to side all regally and gorgeous was actually a little moving.

Also, there were framed posters of magazine covers with the first black cover models. Seventeen, Mademoiselle, Marie Claire... all from the late 60's.

And then of course, Tim fucking Gunn of Project Runway was there, mingling and eating h'ors doeuvres. TIM GUNN!!! He looks exactly the same as he does on TV!

That was actually my only star-struck moment. Not even when the slew of hot-as-fuck black supermodels swanned in did I bat an eye. Or when the hip-hop dudes in fresh seersucker suits and straw hats made an entrance.
Not even at my own boss, Diddy.

Nop.
Just whenI spotted Tim Gunn, my heart went aflutter and I had to resist the urge to take a picture.

All in all, pretty entertaining.
Of course, the drive up there was an episode of HOW AWKWARD what with me and ryan in the backseat, my boss sitting co-pilot and her husband driving.
Her husband the drunk racist. OH GOOD TIMES!

Later, Ryan and I had a romaaaaantical dinner at Rosewater (I had striped bass) and then we passed out at a respectable hour.

Today: gym, more gym, and Lemur comes over for video games and wine.

and the timer goes: 22 days, 7 hours, 49 minutes...

earlier / next