2001-04-08 :: 2:32 p.m.


So I was rooting through some boxes in one of my closets that I never unpacked and it was basically your run-of-the-mill old notebooks from college and stacks of photos. The photos were all from various vacations in Greece. I'm radiating in every single one. Radiating fun and good times and hapiness.

This is what I'm doing. When the maternal unit gets back from Paris next week, we're going to get me a ticket to Greece for August. One-way. I will decide when I want to come back, if I do at all.

I've been thinking, you know, when you get an opportunity to live in another country rent-free, and to work wherever you want to work because you speak four languages, you should take it.. Right? And the time is now. I want to go there while I'm still young and there are more options for me job-wise. I want to go while I'm still young and able to let loose on the weekends and have a time. I want to go while I am still single and don't have anything tying me down.

I don't know if it will work out over there for me. I might realize after a couple of months that I can't hack it, or it's not what I thought it would be. All I know is that I miss people over there. I miss my cousins and my friends and the air and the laid-back-coolness of it. I want to always be a ferry ride away from a breathtaking island in the summer. I want my dog to run around in the back yard and never be cold.

I hope I can do this. I hope I can let go of everything holding me back here. I hope I am able to walk away and not regret anything. It's not about running away, as a few people have been pointing out. I'm not running away from anything. I'm running towards.

Fluxcapacitor said that it wouldn't matter how many continents I put between me and him. If I feel what I feel, I'd still feel it in Greece. And that may be true, but I won't know until I've tried. And this isn't fully about how I feel for another person, this is more about how I feel in this city. And where my head would do better.

earlier / next