2001-03-06 :: 1:07:28am


I talked to Drummer Boy tonight.
He said "I was wondering when you were going to call me." And the whirring of the circuitry revving up on the inside all over again... I'm such a sucker.

So we have a date. He said "Because I want to see you tomorrow, but I promised a friend I would go to his poetry reading, I was wondering if you would go with me?"

And, a little too bluntly, I said "Poooeeetryyy??....ugh." He laughed, and said, "I know, but I promised." So I agreed. And then I think we're going to the Continental.

He asked me why I had flirted with him in Columbus, back in May, in front of Rock Star Ex. And I told him that a very small part of me was upset that Sleazy was hitting on Rock Star Ex in frnt of me, but the other part was because I honestly had a sort of thing for him.

Do I know what I'm doing? No. But am I excited? Hell yes.

Funny little piece of information that nearly made my head spin, because the world, if you didn't already believe it, is far too small to contain all of us: Drummer Boy's younger brother dated HH for a while.

Not only is that absolutely jaw-dropping in the scope of the coincidence of it all, but that fact that Drummer Boy is only 29. How much cradle robbing can one lunatic woman do in one lifetime?

But anyway. It was good to agree that she set back the women's movement about 150 years and he knew what I meant when I said "I don't want her to even think she's a fair representation of the whole 'girls-with-guitars' scene." I wish Kathleen Hanna would kick her ass.

But anyway.

A date with Drummer Boy. Tomorrow. Can't wait can't wait can't wait.

I build myself a house in the sky every single time. It collapses every single time, too. One day, it will hold, I swear it has to.

earlier / next