05.27.07 :: 8:38 am


we found a place!
a 1,050 sq. ft. loft in downtown LA!

Say hello to the Pacific Electric Lofts.

Gotta love a place with Petula Clark playing on its website.

Anyway, it's the old red-car train depot from 1910. Also, it was the first skyscraper built in LA.
I love a place with history!

The amenities alone are just ridiculous. First of all: PET FRIENDLY.
Then.
Rooftop pool with cabanas and huge sun beds (BEDS!) and a view of LA, jacuzzi, on-site laundry & parking, concierge service (fancy!), on-site gym, and a screening room/lounge with pool tables, a bar and a plasma screen TV.

Hot damn!!!

Our unit has almost floor-to-ceiling windows, new appliances, and CLOSETS.
Also, approximately 14ft. ceilings, hi, hello.

I'm so excited. I just can't hide it. I'm about to lose control and I think I like it, oh yeah.

Anyway, all this and rent is only $200 more expensive than what I was paying in Brooklyn.

We put the deposit down tomorrow.
The only drawback is that it's kind of in a still-being-developed part of town so it's a little sketchy at night but I mean, whatever, I'm a New Yorker. I know from all kinds of sketchy.

But, the amount of money being poured in to the area right now leads me to believe it's going to be bumpin' in a year or two.

Anyway, here are some photos!

exterior

rooftop patio, ooh la la

living room

Can I git a HELL YEAH!!

earlier / next