04.01.02 :: 2:50 pm


I just got off the phone with my father.

It was unexpected and I'm all conflicted, and I told him I loved him (against my better judgement, but in the end I guess it was the right thing to say) and he sounded so old but his laugh was the same and he was excited to meet My Boy and come to our wedding and I held back crying for as long as possible.

And he told me my grandfather died two years ago, from cancer, and that my grandmother was on her way, too.

But he was in good spirits and his wife was clapping in the background when he said "She's getting married!"

It was pleasant.

It was weird.

I don't even think I hate him anymore. I can't even bring myself to care about hating him.

I don't know what else to say about it. It is what it is. I'm glad we talked, and I'm glad he quit smoking and he's alive and well and still making corny jokes.

Everything's alright forever.

earlier / next