10.31.06 :: 1:46 pm


i'm so distraught over the news that stoosh-dog is slowly but surely losing her eyesight.

i feel as though i could have done better for her, in this life, and now that she's elderly i'm worried she's not as happy as she could be.

ryan reassured me that she has the best life ever. she's got him to keep her company all day, then i come home and give her more love (and treats), and on the weekends she runs free in the park with other dogs.

I hope she's happy. I think she is.

there's going to be a day when i'm gonna have to willingly take her to the vet and put her down.
i know it's not for a long time, but yesterday when the vet diagnosed her with corneal sclerosis or whatever, i knew this was the beginning of her slow decline.

She's been the only stable, reliable, ongoing presence in my life. A steady source of love and devotion.
When I had nothing else, I had Stoosh.

My sweet little blind nooshpie.

I'm gonna make her a steak when I get home.

earlier / next