11.21.06 :: 9:24 am


I kind of think Thanksgiving is fucking gross.

There. I said it.

Maybe it's just my Europeanness coming through, but I don't think I'm alone in this.

I'd probably be more okay with it all if it weren't for the unecessarily excessive amounts of food, but that's what makes America America. Gluttony.

Eating until you pass out is revolting.

Eating turkey leftovers for a week straight doesn't appeal to me either.

We never really celebrated Thanksgiving growing up, unless we were invited to non-Greek houses, which was hardly ever so our Thanksgiving tradition has always been to go to a different fancy restaurant each year.
The portions are less out of control, too.

Sometimes we revisit old faves, like the Blue Water Grill, which we're enjoying this Thursday.

Sometimes, we don't feel like going out at all and we skip it altogether.

The best part about having a mother who doesn't enjoy cooking is Christmas dinners. Because not only do we go all out fancy, but the restaurant is almost always empty except for us.
Private dining! In Manhattan! Sweet!


I've had three cups of coffee, and it's not even 10 yet so I'm all over the place with my thoughts but this was all brought to you by Thanksgiving programming on TV.

Nothing says loving like a pound of marshmallows on yams.
bleeeeech.



earlier / next