2001-05-03 :: 9:46 a.m.


It's amazing how unaware I was of my dependency on my 'puter. Amazing.

I took the day off yesterday to deal with various plumbers and to clean up the mess, and then, I had all this free time. So I decided to hang out with RSE since he's the only one I know who's functionally unemployed at the time and although it could've turned out disastrous, it was actually a really great time.

Besides the fact that the weather was just amazing, it was a great time. Not exactly like old days, but close. Different, but good.

I basically just tagged along with him to Home Depot and Ikea and BJ's and the like, so he could prettify his backyard. Tiki torches ("Tribal Council!"), lanterns, table and chairs... and then we had sandwiches and I swung on the hammock and the sun was hitting me just so, and it was like it didn't even matter that my stuff was destroyed. Good company is key during such tragi-comic events.

It's just stuff, right? It's all replaceable.

There is some kind of important lesson here.


earlier / next